/
Blogger 1
Isabel Mendoza nació en Cali (Colombia) una ciudad famosa por la alegría y el ambiente festivo de sus ciudadanos. Los colombianos llaman a Cali “la sucursal del cielo” y una de las mayores atracciones turísticas de...
Blogger 2
Anne Smieszny Silva is from Cincinnati, Ohio, where she was a synchronized swimmer for eight years. She began learning Spanish in middle school. She earned Bachelor’s degrees with Honors from the Ohio State...
Blogger 3
Patricia Acosta is from San Juan, Puerto Rico, where at age 8 she began to show her passion for education by teaching math to her (often unwilling) friends, classmates, neighbors and pets with the help...
Blogger 4
Mario A. Nuñez loves Madrid… and when in Madrid, he does what the Madrileños do…eat tapas “con locura”! Somehow he also finds time to go to the museums and cultural sites…
Blogger 5
Angela Padron is originally from Freehold, New Jersey where she grew up in a bicultural household. She had the best of both worlds learning about her mother’s English heritage and her father’s...
Blogger 6
María Treviño loves to travel. Visiting Spanish-speaking countries brings her greatest satisfaction. It’s impossible for her to choose one location as each city has its own special attraction. She loves to...
Blogger 7
Evelyn Silva nació en la pequeña y hermosa ciudad de Cienfuegos, situada en el centro-sur de la isla de Cuba. Amante del olor del mar y del sonido de las olas al chocar con los muros, Evelyn emigró a...
/

Every year, Americans around the nation get together to celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15th through October 15th. The contributions Hispanic Americans have made to the United States are endless and inspiring, and they have had a profound and positive impact on our county.

Webinar: Common Core Text Complexity in Spanish: Is Not As “Complex” As It Seems! - Resources for your Spanish Classroom

By Spanish Classroom 1799 Views Leave a comment Go to comments
Aug 15

Common Core Text Complexity in Spanish: Is Not As "Complex” As It Seems! 

The same webinar will be offered four times: once in the morning and once in the afternoon on both Tuesday, August 27 and Wednesday, August 28. Participants must choose one of the four times.

· Tuesday, August 27 AM: 11:00am – 12:30pm Eastern Time; [10:00am-11:30am Central; 9:00am-10:30am Mountain; 8:00am-9:30am Pacific]

· Tuesday, August 27 PM: 5:30pm – 7:00pm Eastern Time; [4:30pm-6:00pm Central; 3:30pm-5:00pm Mountain; 2:30pm-4:00pm Pacific]

· Wednesday, August 28 AM: 11:00am – 12:30pm Eastern Time; [10:00am-11:30am Central; 9:00am-10:30am Mountain; 8:00am-9:30am Pacific]

· Wednesday, August 28 PM: 5:30pm – 7:00pm Eastern Time; [4:30pm-6:00pm Central; 3:30pm-5:00pm Mountain; 2:30pm-4:00pm Pacific]


Session Language: Due to the complexity of the subject matter, English and Spanish, as appropriate

Session Description:

The new Common Core Standards have prescribed very specific parameters for the teaching of literacy in all subject areas, including K-12 Spanish as a World Language and Spanish for Spanish Speakers. According to the CCSS, one aspect of literacy is the development of reading skills in students that guarantee their success in their post-secondary education and/or the workforce. The purpose of this session is to provide guidance to K-12 Spanish teachers on how to address text complexity in the Spanish classroom.

This session will being with a brief review of the English Language Arts and Literacy Common Core Standards (CCSSO, 2010), its Six Instructional Shifts, and their implications for the Spanish K-12 classroom..

The session will then specifically focus on the CCSS Anchor Reading Standards, and what changes these represent in the teaching of reading in Spanish. The presenter will explain what is the Common Core’s "balance between literary and informative texts”, and define what Text Complexity is according to the Common Core, with a discussion of the three aspects of text complexity: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Matching Reader to Text and Task, and what tools and instruments may be appropriate and recommended to measure them in Spanish.

Finally, the presenter will provide a variety of text examples and suggest how to match them to a student’s language proficiency. These examples will consist of both informational and literary K-12 texts in Spanish.

 

Click here to register.  

 

Share and Enjoy
This month on Spanish Classroom

Every year, Americans around the nation get together to celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15th through October 15th. The contributions Hispanic Americans have made to the United States are endless and inspiring, and they have had a profound and positive impact on our county.

Recent Posts
  • Los pronombres personales
     Por Evelyn Silva Los pronombres personales refieren a personas, objetos y/o cosas...
  • Los sonidos y las letras
    Cuando hablamos, pronunciamos sonidos. Los sonidos sirven para distinguir palabras, como por...
  • Sweet 15
    In Spanish-speaking countries, one of the most important celebrations is called...
  • El adjetivo
    Los adjetivos son palabras que sirven para expresar cualidades o estados del sustantivo al que se...
  • Hispanic Heritage Month Is Here!
    Every year, Americans around the nation get together to celebrate Hispanic Heritage...
LET'S GET SOCIAL