Category Navigation:

About Us

 

• About Grupo Santillana
• About Santillana USA
• Who We Are
• What We Do
• Management Team


About Grupo Santillana

Grupo Editorial Santillana has its origins in the publishing house Santillana, which was founded in 1960 with the educational mission of providing teachers and students with innovative and high-quality instructional materials.Though Santillana originated in Spain, it is now an international publisher with affiliates in almost all Spanish-speaking countries, as well as in Portugal, the United Kingdom, Brazil, and the United States.

View map of subsidiaries >>

In the 1970s,Grupo Santillana broadened its activity to trade publishing, featuring a wide range of trade books in Spanish for both children and adults. Its many prestigious trade imprints include: Alfaguara, Aguilar, Taurus, Alamah, Altea and Alfaguara Juvenil/Infantil, Richmond, and Santillana, Punto de lectura.

In the 1990s,Grupo Santillana began operating in the adult online education market. This project culminated with the creation of two new divisions, Santillana Formación (Santillana Education) and Instituto Universitario de Posgrado (Postgraduated Studies Institute). Currently, Grupo Santillana boasts twenty-one offices worldwide and is the largest educational publisher in the Spanish-speaking world. Since March 2000, Grupo Santillana is part of PRISA, the leading Spanish- and Portuguese-language group in education, communication, and entertainment, with a presence in twenty-two countries in Europe and America.

Click here to learn more about Grupo Santillana

» back to top


About Santillana USA Educational Publishers

Who We Are

Santillana USA, based in Miami, Florida, is one of twenty-two subsidiaries of Grupo Santillana, the largest educational publisher in the Spanish-speaking world. Our offices throughout Europe and Latin America collaborate to offer the very best culture and creativity from the Hispanic world. Also, our international presence has strengthened our expertise in dedication to second language education.

Our mission is to make learning and teaching English and Spanish an experience that is motivating, enriching, and effective for both teachers and students. In a collaborative effort with authors, editors, teachers, and students, we create instructional materials that meet needs of modern-day students throughout the United States.

» back to top


What We Do

We are dedicated to the diffusion of the Spanish and English language by offering quality second language instructional materials and children’s literature for K-12 education. We work in conjunction with other Santillana offices around the world to bring you the best in both languages.
Additionally, we strive to meet the special needs of Portuguese and Haitian Creole language education. As part of our commitment to the educational community, Santillana USA also offers educators Professional Development services through our Santillana PD division.

» back to top


Management Team

Leading our commitment to second language education in the USA:

Grupo Editorial Santillana - Miguel A. Tapia Miguel A. Tapia
President & CEO
mtapia@santillanausa.com
Grupo Editorial Santillana - Silvia Matute Arturo Castillon
National Sales Director
acastillon@santillanausa.com
       
Grupo Editorial Santillana - Héctor Miralles Marta Moldes Gómez 
COO
mmoldes@santillanausa.com
Grupo Editorial Santillana - Mario Nuñez Bill Dickenson
Regional Sales Director (Southwest Region)
BDickenson@santillanausa.com
       
Grupo Editorial Santillana - Philippe Seiler Javier Cabrera
CTO
jcabrera@santillanausa.com
Grupo Editorial Santillana - Kathy Jimenez Marc Deising
Regional Sales Director (Western Region, Alaska, Hawaii and Canada)
mdeising@santillanausa.com
       
Grupo Editorial Santillana - Philippe Seiler Dr. Barbara Jones
Director of Professional Development Division
bjones@santillanausa.com
Grupo Editorial Santillana - Kathy Jimenez George Melendez
Regional Sales Director (Northern Region)
gmelendez@santillanausa.com

       
Grupo Editorial Santillana - Arturo Castillón Kathy Jimenez
Marketing Director
kjimenez@santillanausa.com
Grupo Editorial Santillana - Nicolás Posada Ignacio Echevarria
Regional Sales Director (Southeast Region)
iechevarria@santillanausa.com
       
 Grupo Editorial Santillana - Arturo Castillón


Jacqueline Rivera
Production Manager
jrivera@santillanausa.com
   
       
 Grupo Editorial Santillana - Arturo Castillón

Isabel Mendoza
Director of Children’s Books Division

imendoza@santillanausa.com
   
       

» back to top


Our vision is to promote language, ideas, learning, and creativity. YOU are an integral part of that vision!

Santillana USA Staff